The Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund

The Rowena Reed Kostellow Young Designer Award

In 2017 the Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund created a new annual award to honor outstanding young designers in the early years of their careers. Awardees receive recognition and a student-designed trophy, presented at the annual Rowena Reed Kostellow Award event.

“I have a unique advantage...a really strong three-dimensional design foundation”

— Cindy Juette, first Rowena Young Designer Award winner

Rowena Reed Kostellow Young Designer Award Recipients:

2018: Ariana Zarrillo (BID ’13)

Ariana studied the principles of 3D design with Linda Celentano, Karen Stone, Scott Vandervoort, Kate Hixon, Martin Skalski, and Pamela Waters. Since graduation in 2013, she has been applying those skills designing footwear at Cole Haan. Her passion for beauty has led her to a variety of consulting and design-and-build projects, including the interior millwork for the Nalata/Nalata flagship store in SoHo, custom furniture pieces, developing consumer accessories, and renovating a 1911 building on Staten Island.

2017: Cindy Juette (MA ’10)

Cindy Juette, completed her MA from Pratt in 2010, she then won a Fulbright scholarship for a second MA program in Automotive Design from Coventry University and also holds a degree from Art Center. Now she works as an interior designer at Fiat Chrysler Automotive. She says: “I do bring Pratt's 3-D education with me wherever I go. It is such a unique approach to form making and I feel so lucky to have been a part of that curriculum.”

Cindy Juette acceptance of the first Rowena Young Designer Award